belarus traditional child ornament


My little investigation about Google.by

Google.by is owned by unknown cybersquatters (as it appears, they are most probably related to a Minsk web studio ActiveMedia). I first wrote about it in July 2003 [1]. At first, they had a graphical interface totally different from Google and their own database, which appeared to be just a tiny index of several thousand Belarusian web pages. The engine was essentially a bug-ridden PHP script. When I tried to use google.by very often it was generating errors instead of showing search results. At one point in 2003 or 2004 it stopped working all together, showing this error message

“Can’t open template file ‘/usr/local/mnogosearch/etc/search.htm’”

for any search I’ve tried, for several months. And then suddenly in late 2004 or early 2005 the site was re-designed. The cybersquatters stole Google’s Belarusian-language page design and pasted Google Ads on the right side. (I’m curious how they could register their Google AdWords account to show ads on such a page?)

As far as I understand, many people were fooled into thinking that this is an authentic Google page.

Today even more bizarre thing happened. A respected IT magazine eWeek (!) was also deceived by the outer appearance and the domain name and ran this article:

Ads Reach Google’s Front Page:

Advertisements now appear on the home page of a Google Inc. Internet search engine, thus ending the company’s nearly decade-long tradition of an ad-free front page.

They are not flashy, “graphical doodads and popping up all over,” as Google promised in late December.

Rather, Google’s Web site in Belarusian, has the more sedate approach of three sponsored links taking up an inch-wide column of the right-hand side of the Web browser.

This is a sign of the new era for Google, one in which a portion of its once-pristine front page will be sold to advertisers a pixel at a time, as Internet search competitors Yahoo Inc. and Microsoft Corp.’s MSN now do.

What can I say? “LOL”? Or, kudos to the cybersquatters for fooling eWeek journalists. ;)

Update: Here’s a .GIF snapshot of the original and fake Google screens put together. The Belarusian pirates don’t seem to speak good Belarusian, making pretty bad mistakes such as spelling інтернэце instead of інтэрнэце.

Update-2: “eWeek” promptly acknowledges the mistake, removes the above-metioned article and publishes a nice follow-up instead: Google Investigates Fake Site.

24 Responses to “My little investigation about Google.by”

  1. Administrator Says:

    http://www.br23.net/en/wp-content/fake_google.gif

  2. lukeii Says:

    The article doesn’t seem to be there anymore - maybe they read your blog. :)

  3. stolik Says:

    >>The article doesn’t seem to be there anymore - maybe they read your blog.

    More probable that Google.com read that article and answered to eweek forcing them to take off that article.

  4. Administrator Says:

    Stolik: there’s a cool Ukrainian-American blogger Alex Moskalyuk who runs several English-language and Russian-language blogs. As soon as he learned about the problem, he wrote an e-mail to eWeek journalist, and then the article was taken down.

    http://www.livejournal.com/users/alexmoskalyuk/432716.html

  5. ambiont Says:

    Look at this article:

    Google taken over in Belarus. Not surprising really

    […] Belarus has a Google page here, which must be one of the first in the world to have its own advertising. The only problem is that the page is not actually run by the Google we know and love which lives in the United States.

    Google’s real Belarus address is http://www.google.com/intl/be/ however it seems that the outfit has been cyber squatted.

    Rather than dress up the site in something more criminal, the squatters have just decided to make a fast buck out of advertising to those Belarusians who just type in the address.

    According to battellemedia Google says that, despite the site having its logo, it has nothing to do with them. It is setting their legal mastiffs onto the site to shut it down.

    I wouldn’t fancy Google’s chances. Belarus was banned from the Council of Europe because of its human rights violations. The Venice Commission has declared its constitution “illegal and does not respect minimum democratic standards and thus violates the principles of separation of powers and the rule of law”.

    Mind you, they could always bribe a top official to have the site shut down.

  6. Administrator Says:

    Thanks for the link, ambiont!

    And those cyber squatters are not making that much money, actully. I wrote to ActiveMedia.by and they said it costs $50 per week for one ad spot, so their maximum capacity is $150 per week, or maximum $600 per month… Pretty ridiculous. They claimed they get 10,000 visitors per day. That sounds a bit exaggerated too. Why would someone type in and bookmark google.by, if they could go to google.com directly (a well-known address as opposed to this domain name)?

  7. endrus Says:

    Wow, a nice investigation there you’ve done! I used their site once or twice but never imagined they were pirates. How come Google shut their eyes to this issue?

  8. Administrator Says:

    lukeii: a copy of the eWeek article by Ben Charny can be viewed on Yahoo!News

    * http://news.yahoo.com/s/zd/20060103/tc_zd/168330

  9. Administrator Says:

    endrus: Supposedly, ActiveMedia asked their permission and Google answered that they don’t care about Google.by domain because they are not planning to open an office in Belarus, and because Belarus citizens consitute less than 1% of all their visitors (and probably 0.0…01% of the revenues). That’s what ActiveMedia says, at least.

  10. }T{Reme [Q_G] Says:

    Hmmm do wonder about those spelling mistakes… I mean… when I switch From Russian to Belarusian language input, э also changes to e. But then again, what do I know? I dont speak neither language!

    $600 a month isn’t that bad :) It’s good to see that there are some nice cybersquatters out there. 99% of the other typo-ed site names (try gooogle.com or google.co for example) are riddled with spam, spyware, ads virusses, porn and more.

  11. Administrator Says:

    > when I switch From Russian to Belarusian language input э also changes to e.

    The mistake is somewhat more fundamental, and relates to our phonetics. There’s a hard “t” (т) in Belarusian, but there’s no soft palatalized “t’” (ть) in Belarusian. It turns into c’ (ць).

    So if a Slavic word exists in Ukrainian, Russian, Bulgarian and it has a soft “t’”, in Belarusian it would be most probably spelled and pronounced with a soft “c’” sound.

    So in this case, they essentially wrote “inCIernet” instead of “internet”, which I find pretty damn funny.

  12. Administrator Says:

    P.S. Another update:

    eWeek promptly acknowledges the mistake and publishes a nice follow-up: Google Investigates Fake Site

  13. Administrator Says:

    Similar discussion at another blog:
    * http://battellemedia.com/archives/002183.php

  14. }T{Reme [Q_G] Says:

    Ahh.. I see now. Thanks for your explanation :)

  15. ollka Says:

    thank you for finally forcing me to look up “kudos”.
    on a completely unrelated topic: isn’t it awesome that it’s you who did vesna’s website!
    cheers:)

  16. download free ringtones verizon Says:

    nokia ringtones info nokia remember ringtones free polyphonic ringtones for nokia 3595

    Who free ringtones verizon funny free mp3 ringtones

  17. best payday loan site payday loan best rate Says:

    advance cash loan payday software? ?

    Over advance loan online payday fast fax loan no payday

  18. 24 ringtones show tv Says:

    100 free mobile ringtones virgin

    That download hindi ringtones 24 ringtones show tv

  19. Doodee Says:

    Thanks for sharing

  20. advance advance america cash Says:

    casino sans tlchargement

    That gratis motorola klingeltne gratis klingeltne samsung

  21. Vesstreaskkab Says:

    I’d prefer reading in my native language, because my knowledge of your languange is no so well. But it was interesting! Look for some my links:

  22. jouer au poker francais Says:

    application bank card credit http://applicationbankcardcredit-gvw.blogspot.com/ [url=http://applicationbankcardcredit-gvw.blogspot.com/]application bank card credit[/url] business credit card consolidation [url=http://businesscreditcardconsolidation-yck.blogspot.com/]business credit card consolidation[/url] http://businesscreditcardconsolidation-yck.blogspot.com/ http://freenokiaringtonesglk.blogspot.com/ [url=http://freenokiaringtonesglk.blogspot.com/]3360 filipino free nokia ringtones[/url] 3360 filipino free nokia ringtones http://ringtonessamsungsite-ylk.blogspot.com/ ismarket.com ringtones samsung site [url=http://ringtonessamsungsite-ylk.blogspot.com/]ismarket.com ringtones samsung site[/url] http://freenokiatracfoneringtonesdved.blogspot.com/ [url=http://freenokiatracfoneringtonesdved.blogspot.com/]free nokia tracfone ringtones[/url] free nokia tracfone ringtones

  23. Vesstreaskkab Says:

    I’d prefer reading in my native language, because my knowledge of your languange is no so well.

  24. Patrick Says:

    What’s with all the spam

Leave a Reply